Becky's Farm Life

The simple life, living off God's land, one day at a time.

Fall is here and so am I

     Boy, have I missed you all. I was just reading some of my older posts. And most of you have been with me through it all. Thank you all for your prayers. The Lord has brought me a long way. I am really doing good. I just finished my first quarter with high A’s in all three classes. Now I get a week off and then start back. I am really enjoying college. TommieLynn is doing great in school. Tasha and Miss Gabby are both good.

   TommieLynn and I went to town today. We had a really great time. I found a lot of bargains at the thrift stores, blue jeans and pants and shirts for 25 cents each, we both got some. Just what we were looking for, thank you Lord. We had lunch at a outdoor hamburger stand. It was great weather for it. 

    Fall is finally in the air, along with the sunshine.  You see it has rained here almost everyday for over 2 weeks. This past week has been sunshine. It’s been a wonderful week. I love fall time of year. I have friends coming in this weekend to help me finish getting ready for winter, the high ladder stuff.

    The question you all have asked here, I will get answered really soon. And I am going to try my best yet again to keep this blog going. I have really missed this. And taking a look back on it all today, was good. You all have blessed me so much, thank you.

    Please let me know how you all are doing? Anything new going on? Did you find a new saving tip? Have you been blessed, and want to share?

 

Thank you all again, May God bless you all to overflowing.

 

Becky

October 3, 2009 - Posted by | thank you, update

14 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear that everything is going well. I was getting worried. But I totally understand since it seems there is more to do than time to do it. Life is good in North Florida. We could have used some of the rain that has been falling on you but that did not happen. I was in North Georgia the weekend that had the major flooding. It rained and rained and then rained some more. I thought We were going to have to build an ark!
    Thank you for being a blessing to us. May the Lord continue to bless you and your family.

    Comment by Pam | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am glad to hear you are all doing well. Were you able to get agood soaker pattern for knitting? LOL…guess the better question would be have you had *time* to knit up some diaper covers? Great grades! You go, girl!
    I don’t have any earth-shattering tips to share…maybe I do and just don’t know it. We just live a quiet normal life here :o).
    I hear you on the beautiful weather. We had rain here 22 days in September, either daytime, over night, or both! Now nice cool (and dry) temps in the mid- to upper-70’s and I’m lovin’it. I’m very much an autumn and winter person.

    I know you’re busy and life keeps moving along, but I do enjoy the visits and as you find a moment or two, I’d love to keep reading the updates and such. You keep me inspired to keep life simple and stop for the good stuff.

    Take care-
    Deanna

    Comment by Deanna | October 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m so proud of you. I miss your updates but am happy to exchange that for those “A” grades.
    Please don’t expect to keep us entertained all the time. I love it, but we are not your first priority. Maybe send us a quick note once a week if you find the time.
    How is Tommielynn doing with school? Competing with Mom I’d guess.
    Your lives have changed so drastically in the last year. You may not see how far you have come, but we do. Amazing the power of women.
    Go Girls!
    Sheila

    Comment by Sheila Smith | October 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. I finished canning 69 quarts of potatoes yesterday. I was glad to have your site for reference. Thanks so much.
    Mrs. Olson

    Comment by Debbie Olson | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. I just found your site and it looks like a gold mine! I live in a neighborhood, but have landscaped to get as much food from the yard as possible. I am about to try my hand at canning for the first time as we are also memebers of an organic farm and get great produce from them. We are about to start the Winter share and I just put together a crock of soon to be sauerkraut. I am really interested in the canning of meat and meals. Our freezer is getting full and would like to use shelf space instead of only electricity to store and save money. My husband retired from 20 years in the military this year and money is a lot tighter without that income.
    Sorry this is so long…my question is about the pressure canner. I bought a 23 qt presto since I have a glass top stove and it says it is safe, but how do you keep from having the water all evaporate during a 90 minute processing time? I am afraid to have the water run out and ruin my stove or canner. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

    Comment by Lynn | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. This is my first visit with you. I can epathize with you. I was widowed 22 years ago with 8 of my 10 children still at home. No life insurance, just the desire to serve the Lord and my children. I can’t believe that 22 years have passed. We lived on a little homestead, cow and all. I homeschooled my children, back then homeschooling was looked down on. Your grandbaby is beautiful. Isn’t life wonderful! Oh yes, My little saving tip. Whenever I come home from shopping, I put my change in a piggy bank and my one dollar bills (or bill) away. I use the change for Christmas, One year I have over 300dollars in change. I save the one dollars in groups of 25. This is my savings. I usually only shop twice amonth, but it adds up. Keep up the goo work.

    Comment by JoAnna Dalton | October 23, 2009 | Reply

  7. Congrats on your grades! Hope you can keep the blog going.

    Comment by Robert | October 28, 2009 | Reply

  8. just stopped by to check on you….. how are you??

    Comment by Virginia | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. I just wanted to drop you a line and say Merry Christmas and hope you have a happy New Year 🙂

    Comment by kelsomom | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  10. I am so missing your family updates. We need new photos of the grand baby. How is Tommielynn doing in school. Please drop us a line we are lonesome.

    Comment by Sheila Smith | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  11. I miss hearing about you and your family, Becky.

    Comment by Kathy | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  12. Hi Becky,
    Its me hopefulheart(Cammy),
    I am so happy to find your blog again. It is so good to see that you are doing well in school. That Grandbaby must be walking around everywhere and getting into everything by now.
    Call me sometime. I would love to hear from you.

    Comment by HopefulHeart | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  13. Wondering how you are doing. I miss not hearing about you and your family. God Bless.

    Comment by Kathleen | July 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. I just found your website and thought it was very interesting. I like to store and stock also and there were some new ideas for me. I was wondering how you were doing and if you still were going to be updating your blog.

    Comment by Alex | July 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

