Becky's Farm Life

The simple life, living off God's land, one day at a time.

School, Snake, Update: Starting a New Road in Life

   On July 13, I start my Associate Degree in Accounting at Everest College: a fully on-line college. 🙂 The cost is a little more for being on line. But here is why I chose to do on line. My truck is still not fixed, and don’t know now long it’ll last, the price of gas, the local college is 40 minutes away and a few classes on line. I would stress out more with getting to class than doing the classes. Everest got me a Pell Grant and a student loan ( that does not have to be paid back until I’m done with school and only $50 a month.), and they also send a laptop to use and when I graduate the laptop is mine. They will also try to find me a job while I am going to school. I am looking forward to learning again, but a little scared.  I started Accounting in college before I meet Tommy, and had 77 credit hours. But when we married, I knew enough to do his business books, so I quit. Which Tommy did not like, so I know he is smiling down now.  I have only about 3 1/2 years of getting Tommy’s Social Security before I’m on my own. So I’m preparing for the road ahead. And I really enjoy Accounting and book work. So we’ll see were the Lord leads this for me. Most Accounting work for businesses can be done at home and on line, and I might teach other home school students in high school years their accounting for school, and help low income people with their taxes. There are a lot of ways to use this degree. Please pray that the Lord will keep  guiding and leading me day by day. 

   TommieLynn asked to go to public school. We talked about it and she’ll being starting this fall. She has agreed to go a year and than we’ll see from there. I think she needs a change too. I enjoy homeschooling but I think this will be good for her. I fought the idea at first because Tommy and I really wanted the kids homeschooled. But that was also when he was here to help with everything. I believed I would be a failure if I put her in school, then this came to mind, “ For everything there is a season.”  And we are doing this one year at a time. So please say a prayer for her.

   It has been very hot here. Boy, it’s going to be a hot summer. Yesterday, I hung old blankets on the clothes line on the porch and soaked them with water. The porch wraps around the living room and kitchen, which gets the direct sun at the hottest part of the day. The 4 windows in the living room are under the porch. So as the light breeze blew the cooler air came in the house. This is not as good as an AC but it helped a lot. TommieLynn would go out about every hour and spray the blankets with the water hose. The porch looks funny from the road but we are a little cooler.

    On Sunday I found out that men are scared of snakes too. I found a really big black snake in a chicken’s nest. So I call a man for help. He says, use a rake/ hoe to get it out and tells me to watch out cause they bite and will make you sick. duh, I’m that smart. Well I’m not going back in there today. That snake can have all the eggs he wants. And he was still there last night when I checked before bed. It almost makes me want to get rid of the chickens. I really not like snakes. If he is still there this morning, I will try again and call someone to help me.

   TommieLynn and I took silk flowers that spell out DAD and a wooden cross to Tommy’s grave site yesterday. This was really hard on both of us. I guess all firsts will be hard. We still really miss him.

   We have an air antenna and have the convertor box hooked up. And I’m not very happy. Were we used to get 5 channels, we now only get one! Now the picture is much better but that’s it. I will not get satellite or cable. They said I have to many mountains around me. Well I will watch what I need to ( ABC News) on line. This is what I miss the most, ABC News, I have watch that News for to many years to count. Oh well not a lot I can do about it now. :(   I still have Netflix ,on line News and TV shows, so life goes on.

  Well I had better start this day. I’m going with Tasha to the doctors this morning, praying little Miss Gabby has turned. Hope you all have a great blessed day.

Becky  

June 22, 2009 - Posted by | college, life, snake, update

6 Comments »

  1. Becky –

    I, too, believe the Lord, with maybe Tommy helping a bit, is leading you down this path. I think you are making a very wise decision and it seems like things are moving ahead for you and the girls. Maybe you could barter some of your eggs or someone to move the snake? I will say a prayer that it either leaves on its own or you find someone to help. Do you have animal control in your area? Maybe give them a call!
    Linda

    Comment by Linda | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. If you are going to store foods in buckets they should be #2 buckets that means they are food grade. They also make wonderfully easy to remove sealed lids for these buckets and they call them Gamma lids. I store my rice, flour, sugar and grains in these buckets with the gamma lids and it makes them easy to get in and out of with a turn of the handle. Look them up online. They run about $5 ea.

    Comment by Beth | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Becky-Good for you on deciding to go back and finish your degree. You will do well, especially if you enjoy numbers and bookkeeping like you say you do. God gives us all a gift of some kind to help ourselves and others-your gift is probably the gift of numbers. I’m with you on snakes. I’d be on the other side of the farm in no time flat if I had one in my hen house. Hope by the time you read this it will either have left by itself or someone else got rid of it for you. Those things give me the willy’s. I have been praying for you all, little Miss Gabby, too. Take care-Marlys

    Comment by Marlys | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Becky, my daughter went back to public school this past year for the first time in many years after homeschooling. I was nervous, she was nervous…but I think I was more nervous. But she did fine. Had a wonderful year. I’m sure your daughter will be the same. The transition really is not as ruff & tuff as we think. And this is coming from one momma who was a nervous wreck over it! I’m sure Tommie Lynn will do fine. 🙂

    Comment by Mrs. D. | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  5. Becky…

    Today is your first day of classes and I want to commend you for getting the courage to do this for yourself and your family.I just finished my first 2 yrs of online college courses and I did well. I am a SAHM of 3 children and my hubby is gone all week with work. It had its struggles, but they will be worth it. I also got mine in Accounting. I am taking a break and then will go back in the fall of 2010.

    I read your blog on a regular basis and love everything that you do to help save money. There needs to be more devoted people out there like you.

    Kuddos to you!

    Comment by Sharon | July 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. Sharon,
    Awesome. Acconuting is great with many jobs that can be done. Any hints you can give me would me great, about on-line classes. After the first week’s of work, I’m not sure now others can work and go to school?? So far so good. Have a great day.
    Becky

    Comment by Becky | July 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

