Becky's Farm Life

The simple life, living off God's land, one day at a time.

Getting Things Ready

Well I’m still here. With spring in the air, and it calling me to come outside and enjoy it, I have. I got the yard mowed yesterday with the push mower, and my poor unused muscles are crying this morning. Hopefully after a few more times, I’ll be in shape again and not hurt. Winter muscles are slowly waking up and becoming summer muscles.  I really need to learn to use the riding mower. It took all day to mow and that’s just the yard. I did not mow the pasture. All the fence lines are down from there, now just an opened field. Which TommieLynn loves, even if I am not going to mow it.  The sunshine felt good and the yard looks nice.  We really have a big yard, with hills, it’s not a nice flat yard.

I mulched a few things so as not to have to weed eat around them. I need to check into more mulch. Boy, does it look nice around plants and trees.  I am itching to plant but know I need to wait until the end of April, first of May. So I am getting beds ready to plant. The first things to plant will be potatoes ( which I am trying  in big planter tub) and green beans.  I have offered my neighbors the big  field to plant their crops, as I don’t need the big field for us three. They said ok , so hopefully they will use it.  They have been out of work and have kids. And grew a small garden in their yard last year.

I finally got my power bill down by $50.00, I almost cried yesterday when bill came in. I did the happy dance and the girls thought I fell off my rocker. Oh,well. That’s a big drop for us, usually it’s only been $10 – $20 drop.  I need to get the box fans out and cleaned. The house vents opened up and the fan put in the kitchen ceiling. But this can wait until the end of April. We can still get snow. But hopefully not.

One of my chickens is sitting, first one this year. Baby chicks on the way. I need to get the baby chicken pens ready, move some pens, and make some pens bigger. We are having a problem with stray dogs after my chickens.  They have gotten two, and that’s two too many. So I have to run more fence around the pens. There is always something needing to be done  here on the farm. (Even if it’s now a small farm).  I can run fence but it’s still hard for me to get the T-posts in the ground with the T-post slammer(it weighs about 20lbs, and you have to pick it up over your head and slam it down many times on the T-post to get it in the ground, Tommy always did this.) Maybe I can find some muscle to help me. One good thing about living on a farm, you don’t have to pay to go to a gym for a work out. LOL

The girls are doing good. Tasha’s belly is getting better. TommieLynn is growing. We are trying to get ready for they baby. Moving things from one room to another, and thankfully throwing things away.  TommieLynn can’t make up her mind: one minute she wants to be a tomboy and the next a young lady. Which at times bring a smile to my face. My youngest is growing up fast. One minute boys are yucky and the next she’s asking when she can date.

I really need to clean the food barn out. So I know what I really need to plant this year.  I know I will not be canning potatoes this year, unless we are blessed with a lot of them. I’m only planting about 10 lbs as I can’t run the tractor. I know I should plant more, but this first year without Tommy, I need to find out what I can do. And potatoes take the most work, and with everything else, well we’ll see.  It feels so funny, strange not having Tommy here to work with me. It was our favorite time of year, us working together outside to feed our family. I am so glad he taught me all he did. I know I can do almost everything he did, almost. But he never taught me to run the tractor, which is really ok. I don’t think I’d use it if I knew how.

I made it through two of the hardest days without Tommy. Easter Sunday and the next day, Monday, which we would have been married 12 years.  It was rough, but by God’s grace and mercy I made. Yesterday I got the book back that I had made from the entries from the Caring Bridge site for TommieLynn. It had  great photos of Tommy in it. So she and I let some tears fall and enjoyed looking and remembering. Her favorite photo was of her with her daddy showing her how to shoot a gun.  I have good days along with bad ones.  The hardest thing on me is making decisions without him. We always talked thing out before doing anything.  We have been to the grave site a few times, this is where TommieLynn really lets the tears fall. But she’s also the one who asks to go there.

How are you all doing?

What are you doing this year that you did not do last year?

Anyone planting a garden for the first time this year?

Anyone found a great money saving tips lately?

Well I had better start this day. Thank you all for your prayers and comments. They all help me get through my days and bring a smile to my face. God bless you all. Have a great day.

Becky

April 19, 2009 - Posted by | family, farm life, farming, garden, making do, saving money, self sufficiency, update | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Becky –

    Happy to read your post…we all miss when you are gone too long!

    I am trying REALLY hard to get myself organized in this house, prepare our home for whatever the Lord is sending our way in future years, and trying to establish as many “trickle incomes” as possible (Check out my article at http://www.AssociatedContent.com…under the name Justine Paul. If you type Justine Paul into the search box and then look to the right where it says “Sources Justine Paul” and click that it will bring up my articles).

    I believe that the Lord helps those who help themselves (and others) so I am trying to stock my home to support us, extended family and friends…and put by as much money and gift cards to make necessary purchases as I can! I’m trying hard to get all of my gift cards free!

    I am going to be planting 5 containers of veggies this year…hoping next year to expand it even more. I guess in about two weeks I will get my plants at a local nursery and get things started. Trying to be as self sufficient as possible is NOT easy…but it is something I believe we all have to undertake.

    Congrats on the way you are moving forward in continuing to support yourself and your family.
    Lin

    Comment by Linda | April 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Becky, I check your blog every day and was concerned. I was praying you were out in the yard doing some “dirt therapy”. I find it is better than drugs! : )
    This is my first year to have a garden. I am doing “Square foot gardening” and have over 100 sq feet so far. I had to hand mix my compost and top soil so I had lots of “dirt therapy” going on. I found some of those winter muscles too.
    I live in N. Florida so I already have potatoes, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, broccoli, peppers, squash, okra and corn up and doing great. My garden is happy. I am supplementing my garden with fresh vegetables that are already beginning to come in like potatoes and some south Fl. tomatoes. This is my first year to can also so I have been “surfing” a lot also.
    If I lived closer I would come help you on your farm. It sounds great…and I can feel your love for it. I am a born and raised Ga. girl who moved away from the GREAT state. All my family is still there and my grown children even moved back there.
    I might be asking you more questions as I continue on my pioneer journey.
    Pam

    Comment by Pam | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t normally respond but I’ve been a lurker long enough. Great post – keep it up!

    Comment by used bobcats | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Becky,
    Thank you for continuing to post. I love reading your blog. Since we started attending church this winter, we have grown so close as a family- with ourselves and with our congregation family. It has made such a difference in our lives and I have been blessed to witness in my own quiet way. I think that some of the credit for these blessing go to you, i know that you had me and my family in your prayers to find a church family.
    Recently we had a tragedy in our Church family and it really was tough, being a part of our Church families healing process has been a blessing in disguise for us.
    I really wanted you to know how much of a difference you make one small ripple in the pond and how it reaches out far across the country:)
    Amanda

    Comment by Amanda | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey hon. I just wanted to stop in and say hey. You called me the other day on a computer issue, but I forgot to call you back. Call me again tomorrow if it’s still something you need help on. I’ll be at the house tomorrow so I should be able to help out whenever.

    And Becky, if you need the help on the farm, you know I’ll come up there and teach you whatever you want to know on the tractors, mowers, etc.

    Besides, I need some excuse to come see Mom, III. Congratulations, I’m not the only III any more. hehehe.

    Miss you and love you. Kiss the girls for me.

    Comment by Tommy | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. To answer your question, Yes. This might be the first time I plant a garden. I don’t have very much land, and I have 0 experience, but I guess I gotta start sometime. I found your blog tonight by chance (I was researching Cheese… don’t ask) 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by John K. | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hi Becky… It was good to read your update. We are living in the ‘red’ since my dh lost his job and started a new one paying a lot less. But, amazingly, we are not behind on even one bill. Somehow the money comes in to meet the bills. I posted on my blog about what I have been doing to save/earn money from home. http://www.xanga.com/georgene
    I was wondering how you got your electric bill down $50.00? We’re looking at cutting more costs. I think we’ll be going down to one car. That will probably be the next move. God bless you and your children.

    Comment by Georgene | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hi Becky-Been thinking of you. How are you doing? I hope and pray that everything is starting to get a little easier for you. Spring is slow coming to our part of the country. We had 3 feet of snow in blizzards in March and floods-1st and 2nd crest, in April. We finally got our garden tilled about two weeks ago -have some volunteer onions growing that I missed in the harvest last fall. So that and my rhubarb are the only things in the garden so far. Need to get the red onion sets I have purchased, planted now. All the rest of the tender stuff will have to wait til the last weekend of May so I don’t have to worry about frost so much. For a money saver, one thing I do for face soap in a squeeze tube is to cut the cut the tube in half when you can’t get any more out. You would be surprised how much is still in the bottle to be used. Just squeeze the top of the container over the bottom to close it again. Otherwise, it is eating at home and using the slow cooker, etc. Keeping you in my prayers, Take care-Marlys

    Comment by Marlys | May 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

