Becky's Farm Life

The simple life, living off God's land, one day at a time.

Blessed !!

   I sold both the bull and the small truck. Thank you Lord, and you all for your prayers. We’ll be able to pay rent, power, and phone bills this month. With the bull it took 5 men (2 with lassos) and 5 cattle dogs and half an hour to load that crazy bull.

   I have had a few bad days this week.  One was really hard. But the last two days have been easier, thank you Lord. I’m still stepping slowly in this new life’s path I’m on. And only sure of one thing: God never fails you and never leaves you alone.

 

   Social Security widow benefits start in May. So selling the bull and truck was a great, wonderful blessing. The Lord took care of us yet again. At times I question the Lord if I’m doing Him any good, leading any to Him. Well today I read on another forum, where I had help someone in their walk. I cried and thank the Lord. I know we don’t always get to know when we help people, but God knew I really needed it.  I was close to giving up this blog. How could a simple, house wife, on the Internet help anyone? Well the Lord showed me.  He has shown me many different things lately. Things that have always been there but I never really saw them, or the way He wanted me to see them. Does that make any sense to you? I hope so. The Lord is still working on my wings, getting me ready to soar. (for those who missed this post: type “my wings” into the search box on the right, under photo, to read it at the end of that post).

 

   The girls are doing good. They too have hard days but we just start talking about Tommy and let the tears roll. One day at a time sweet Jesus is all we ask. And He answers.

 

   Well I have to take TommieLynn to an Easter egg hunt down the road, so I have to go.

May you all have a blessed and wonderful weekend.

Becky

 

  

April 4, 2009 - Posted by | blessings, making do, self sufficiency, update | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Becky- I am not sure if it was me or not- but just this Friday I posted on the original website where I had first seen a link to your blog- just kinda saying how much I like this blog and how inspirational you are to me, and kind of saying “remember this blog”? I really enjoy reading your blog and admire you- please keep up the blog, if you feel it is your calling- I know you have made a difference for me!! and my walk with God.
    Thank you-
    Amanda

    Comment by Amanda | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Dear Becky,
    Are you able to get social security for Tommylynn? I think you may be able to.
    Mrs. Olson

    Comment by Mrs. Olson | April 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Becky, I found your website on the day your beloved Tommy went to be with the Lord. I want to offer my sympathy and to also tell you I am praying for you and your girls. I am sure there are many more people out there praying too.
    In times for grief you should not make major changes in your life. From reading all your have put into this website I can tell you love it and we love reading it. Continue to do what you were doing before Tommy went to be with the Lord and if it is not something you are “suppose” to do the Lord will open another door. As long as God is what you have your eyes on you will be blessed and much will be accomplished.
    Who would have known by putting “canning potatoes” in the search engine would have opened up your home and life to me.
    Thank you for being a faithful servant.
    Pam

    Comment by Pam | April 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Becky –

    Your steadfast faith in our Lord has surely helped me in my walk. We have had quite a trying time with medical problems recently and have more issues to be handled in the next few months. It is scary, to say the least, but your unwavering faith and your witness to His always being there has really helped me. Please don’t ever feel that you aren’t doing enough for our Lord…you are reaching many more people than you know. Thank you, and thank our Lord for sending you to us.
    Linda

    Comment by Linda | April 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Becky ~ Some people my be turned off by your faith. Others like myself find it inspirational. Others likely you are just what they need to renew their faith.
    I enjoy the home grown, easy to follow instructions of your site. I wish I had your skills and the benefit of living in the country. I could use some good manure for my tomato plants! It’s only 19F this AM so that is a bit off. Our last freeze comes the end of May sometimes the first week of June.
    I would love it if you continues with this site. You may find it therapeutic for your grief.
    I am amused by your poorly behaved bull. I had a 4H steer that was ornery like him. While (6 of us) were loading him, he banged up his ankle. I tripped on a hose and sprained my ankle at the fair. We were both limping around the show ring. Now -35 years later- it is funny.

    Comment by Sheila Smith | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi Becky-Just wanted to say Hello and give you a hug via e-mail. I can’t imagine the loss you are going through right now because I have not lost a husband but I can still share in your loss and your tears. In Matthew, Jesus said we are not supposed to worry about tomorrow because today has enough troubles of it’s own. We just need to do one day at at time and trust Him and He will help us to get through that day. And then He will help us get up tomorrow morning and be with us and do it all over again. I am so glad you do lean on the Lord for your support. I hope you will also continue to do this blog. It is a blessing to come and read and see what you are up to. (And I’ve learned a lot, too.) It’s like talking to your friend over the backyard fence! Take care and God bless you and your family. Marlys Zimbelman

    Comment by Marlys Zimbelman | April 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

