Becky's Farm Life

The simple life, living off God's land, one day at a time.

An Old Treat — Fast Donuts

Last night I made an old treat here. I have made it before but not for many,many years. 

Fast  Donuts

  • buy a can of the cheapest canned biscuits you can find.
  • you will need a deep fryer, like for french fries, or a deep pan with oil.
  • a donut topping: cake frosting, cinnamon and sugar, powdered sugar, a glaze, jelly, whatever you like
  • open the can of biscuits, flatten each one ( can even stick your finger in the middle if you want a hole there)
  • then drop into hot oil, brown each side
  • allow to cool just a bit, not to much, just enough to be able to handle
  • then add your topping
  • these are not as good when cold, but I had no left overs, so no problem there.

Tommy and TommieLynn  loved  them and asked when I was making more.  I just laughed.  I know there are homemade recipes out there but these are fast donuts.  I paid 35 cents for a can of 10 biscuits, and had some left over frosting from a cake.   If you find a good sale on canned biscuits, open them up and wrap each biscuit  in wax paper and place the number you want to use each time in a freezer bag and freeze them.   My Granny made these when I was a kid, and we all loved them. 

Beware they disappear faster then you can get them cooked.

Becky

January 31, 2009 - Posted by | creativity, ideas, making do, recipes | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I use to make these when my kids were little. Now they are grown with homes of their own. We would put sugar in a baggie and shake them in that for a topping. Back then biscuits were 23cents a can. You cut them in fourths and fried them, so you got 40 a can.

    Comment by terilyn | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. I too used to make these, then the canned biscuits got so expensive. Becky, you are a wonder. I am so blessed reading your site. You are such a good example of how to do things. I enjoy your sharing.
    Thank you so much and God bless you and yours.
    debbieo

    Comment by Debbieo | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. I definitely agree with Debbieo….I am blessed reading your site. I am blessed in the information you share, the reminders you give me with your posts, the inspiration and the motivation to keep moving in the direction I truly feel led to walk in.
    Thank you — it’s a full life homesteading and family-steading :o) It’s not always easy to find moments to share on the blog, and I am thankful for each moment you give us.

    Deanna

    Comment by Deanna | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Just checking in to say that I found your site after I canned 49 quarts of potatoes. We left the skin on. We hot packed 21 qts. and cold packed 28. We have eaten the cold packed potatoes several times now: fried, fried, and in soup. Can you tell we like fried potatoes? 🙂 They were great. I would love to try the cheese making too.

    My mom used to make donuts like this. My husband takes frozen bread dough, rolls it out into saucer-sized circles, deep-fries it, sprinkles it with cinnamon & sugar, and calls it Elephant Ears. YUMMY!

    Comment by Crystal | February 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hi Becky,
    I pray that the Lord Jesus will continue to give you strength to carry on. Please know that Jesus is right there beside you to uphold you by His righteous right hand. Remember Isaiah 46 vs.4 and 43.vs1(b) and 2. May God continue to bless you and provide for you to clear all debts.

    Yrs, In Christ
    June

    Comment by june | March 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. thank you so much, you have really inspired me, I have started my pantry. not really any place to keep it though. I want to try making that homemade cheese sause that sounds really good. may God bless you and your family.I hope you continue this site.

    Comment by tina | May 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

